Aalborg Charter - 2008


On Sunday 23rd November 2008, all Gozo's Local Councils signed the Aalborg Agreement, which urges the concept of sustainable development in the localities, the ratification of this Treaty was held in the Citadel in Victoria.

With this agreement, Gozo as a region is being committed as never before to continue its development whilst fully safeguarding the environment, which is the main characteristic of this island.

Present for the signing of this agreement were Dr Monica Vella and Mr Ruben Cassar, Mayor and Executive Secretary of Xewkija Local Council, along with Mayors and Executive Secretaries of the other Gozitan Local Council, the Minister for Gozo, Giovanna Debono, and Parliamentary Secretary Dr Chris Said.

This charter has already been signed by a large number of localities, with a wide range of countries lsuch as Egypt, Greece, Germany, Portugal, Spain and United Kingdom. In all the number of signatories now exceed two thousand localities and regions, spread over 34 countries, which now includes Gozo.

The agreement is named Aalborg after the Danish city in which the idea of Sustainable Localities was born, following the first European Conference discussing the subject, the agreement came into being in 1994.

© Copyright 2013 - Aalborg Charter. - All Rights Reserved.
Joomla theme by hostgator coupons